Posted by: dougis | January 28, 2009

25 things about me

I got tagged with a note in facebook by a couple of old friends that said “Once you’ve been tagged, you are supposed to write a note with 25 random things, facts, habits, or goals about you. At the end, choose 25 people to be tagged. You have to tag the person who tagged you. If I tagged you, it’s because I want to know more about you.”

I thought it was an interesting exercise so I posted my list here as well.

  1. Aikido is an incredibly important part of my life, (amazing how important considering how short a time I have been training)
  2. The only thing right now that is more important than #1 is my family. I have 2 girls who I love more than you can imagine (I don’t know I can imagine quite a bit) and a wife who is both my best friend and staunchest ally.
    Bonus points for knowing where the quote is from
  3. I plan on testing for Shodan (1st degree black belt) barring unforeseen complications
  4. I still know all the words to WAY too many 80s songs
  5. some of the most fun I have had in my life involved still being up at 5:30AM in a college radio station
  6. I work from home (over 10 years now) so the girls have no idea what it is like for Daddy to commute
  7. I like to run in the hot hot sun (sorry channeling Dr Seuss) but I do enjoy running as it helps me clear my head and relax
  8. I have lost ~50 pounds on Weight Watchers (about 40-50 to go)
  9. I still haven’t finished my Bachelors degree
  10. I really enjoy Yoga
  11. I am an optimist
  12. I still don’t feel like I am as old as I am (when people say sir I still look for who they are talking to)
  13. The Princess Bride is one of my FAVORITE movies
  14. I am reading more lately thanks to my 8 year old
  15. I write software, manage technology and manipulate data for a living
  16. I HATE that when people find out my company runs a Horse Racing information website (www.trackmaster.com) their first question is, “so you are an electronic bookie?”
  17. I really enjoy working on home improvement projects
  18. I tend to procrastinate too much
  19. I enjoyed living in the Bay area, but prefer living in Washington (especially since I get to travel to the Bay area for work several times a year)
  20. I have only ever been to 9 states (11 if you count layvers in DC and NC) WA, OR, ID, CA, NV, AZ, SC, FL and GA
  21. If I won the lottery I would build houses for Habitat for Humanity and go back to school
  22. I think I enjoy shopping for technology more than actually buying it
  23. I LOVE the reaction I get from the kids at the dojo when I step on the mat with them
  24. I have been friends with my wife for 23 1/2 years (married for over 15)
  25. finding 25 things to say about myself was a challenge

What is your list?

Responses

  1. Hey Doug, good to find you here at Facebook, I LOVE your blog! Your girls are SOOO cute! I haven’t finished my bachelors either….I was 10 credits away when I had to quit school, and I haven’t made it back.
    My hubby and I have been married for 16 years this last 9/11. Looking forward to getting to re-know you via Facebook. Oh, and I’m in Spanaway, outside of Tacoma.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

