Posted by: dougis | March 6, 2008

Perspective

A few weeks back Mr. Murphy had a field day with me.

I woke up to find out that work had lost power.

No problem we purchased a generator to cover this eventuality, BUT for some reason the building circuits didn’t realize it came on.

OK could have been worse at least the power was only out for a couple of hours and when it came back on all the servers came up, BUT the web database server which feeds our latest and greatest product wouldn’t boot.

No problem we bought a duplicate backup server and they are replicated so swapping over is simple, BUT the backup server won’t boot either.

OK now I am done looking at things from the bright side. I get things running where I can and then dig into the server that won’t boot.

No joy so I call the vendor I bought them from and ask for help, he gets someone out to our site and the two of us work on it for an hour or so and he finally asks if he can pull it and take the server back to their office.

2 more hours go by and he has an answer, brings in the server he took and gets both it and the primary up and running.

Oh, did I mention this all happened on a Thursday which is the day my wife volunteers at Nana’s school and I pick Teeny up from preschool?

I got through the day and you know what, it was a day that showed me how lucky I am. (hang with me for a bit, I am not completely insane).

During the entire day, I got the chance to steal moments with my wife, daughters and dog whereas if I didn’t work from home I wouldn’t have seen them at all that day.

I have one of the BEST hardware vendors you could ever ask for (if you EVER need computer hardware, check out genstor computers, I cannot recommend them highly enough)

My wife and girls get that sometimes stuff happens. When it was almost time for me to head out to get Teeny my wife sticks her head in the door and asks if I need her to go get her for me without my needing to say a word (I hadn’t even thought of it).

When I told Teeny that I was sorry I couldn’t come and get her, she looked me in the eye and said “that’s OK daddy, is your work stuff not broken any more?” and gave me a hug.

All in all it ended up being a much better day than it should have been thanks to the great people in my life.

Responses

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Stacey Derbinshire


Leave a Reply

Categories

