Posted by: dougis | December 5, 2008

Memories of fall camp

I don’t know about you, but I tend to have a few very precious memories that are like photos in my mind.

All I need to do is think about them and I can see the image in my head like it was in front of me (we won’t discuss how accurate that image may or may not be). Things like the day my folks dropped me off to go pick up my little sister (we are both adopted), running home from kindergarten to watch speed racer with my best friend Guy and the look on the doctors face when my oldest was safely delivered via forceps after many many hours of labor.

These things will be with me forever and I was fortunate enough to add to the list a couple of weeks back. I was at fall camp for Kokikai Aikido in San Francisco.

There were several things about camp that I enjoyed immensely (which I may talk about later) but one moment in particular stuck with me (and it wasn’t even on the mat).

I had already spent a good amount of time with friends enjoying camp and several of us we were sitting outside Sunday for lunch.

The day was sunny and warm, the view was spectacular (the Golden Gate bridge was visible over the buildings of the Presidio) and everything just seemed to gel and make sense for a moment.

One of those perfect moments of clarity that you don’t get often, but you really need to relish when you do.

Responses

  1. […] Fall Camp This too will be on the list each year as it is always a joy to spend time with Sensei, seeing old friends and making new ones. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

