Posted by: dougis | January 4, 2009

A look back and forward

It is that time again where many folks tend to reflect on the past year and look to the upcoming one. I am no different (although I don’t typically go in for resolutions, I do like to set goals for myself).

I plan to do the same this year, but first a look back at some of the high points of 2008.

Good things that happened (just a few highlights that stick out since I won’t remember everything).

  • My family
    They will always tend to top this list as they give me the most joy and support.
  • Teeny
    Yes I know I just mentioned family, but she stands out simply for her ability to make me laugh or cry just by knowing the right thing to say (and there is nothing like a 4 1/2 year old climbing in your lap for a hug to put life in perspective).
  • Leigh
    Again, part of my family but also my best friend and one person who really understands me.
  • Fall Camp
    This too will be on the list each year as it is always a joy to spend time with Sensei, seeing old friends and making new ones.
  • The dojo
    In many ways this feels like repetition as this has become an extended family for me. I have so many wonderful people here who provide help and support that I can’t imagine what things would be like without them.
  • Kids Aikido Summer camp
    To get to spend a couple of days with a wonderful instructor (thank you again Dennis Sensei) and my daughter doing something I love was an incredible experience.
  • Nana and her moving into the Highly capable program at school
    To see her truly challenged and blossoming is a wonderful thing (and yes I am bragging about her, I am her Dad it is my right).
  • Home improvement projects
    This is always a source of enjoyment for me as I get to make the house better as well as try new things.
  • Kids Aikido (especially with Nana)
    This is perhaps the most fun out of all the things on the list. Getting to watch all of the kids we teach improve and become more comfortable on the mat has been a great source of joy over the past months. While all the kids are special, watching my daughter grow in her technique and love of the art is especially gratifying.

There are many others as well, but those are a few of the things that really stick out (hmm, notice how many things revolve around either the dojo or family…).

And now my goals for 2009.

  • Continue my training and test for Shodan at fall camp 2009 in Arizona
  • Take a family vacation (already have reservations for July)
  • Add more distance to my running and run a 10K race at some point
    (my eventual goal is a 1/2 marathon, but my brain isn’t ready to commit to that yet 🙂
  • Help Leigh to deal with whatever happens
    (some of you will know what I mean by this and some won’t, but lets just say that life tends to throw curve balls)
  • Start a small home based business for computer consulting for added income
  • Read MORE for fun
  • Lose another 35 pounds
    (actually I want to lose another 50, but this is a good goal for this year, next year I will work on the other 15 if they are still there)

There are many other things I want to do, but that is enough for now.

What are your plans for the coming year and what has brought you joy over the past year?

Leave a Reply

Categories

